Marco Mattiacci on leading Ferrari: “I come with a lot of humility…”

At least Mattiacci is honest about his role in all this…

“… For me it’s to get the highest motivation possible, and to define a certain project management. It’s not me that’s going to give one extra second to the car, it’s the engineers who work for us.”

Adam Cooper's F1 Blog

New Ferrari boss Marco Mattiacci says the opportunity to take over as head of the F1 team came out of the blue in a phone call from Luca di Montezemolo last week – some 72 hours before the news of his appointment was officially confirmed.

The erstwhile Ferrari North America boss was in New York when his boss rang.

“I received a call at 5.58am on Friday morning,” he said. “It was the chairman Montezemolo on the phone, and he told me this is my idea. And I thought that April Fools was already far away, it was 15 days later! Then after the second or third minute of discussion I understood that it was serious. I understood because there was already a ticket ready to go from New York, to Milan, after three hours. I arrived Saturday morning at Maranello, at the Fiorano track.”

Mattiacci said he spent some…

View original post 504 more words

Leave a Reply

